Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): Cheapest Torque Converter Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2017, 07:15 PM
1 Year Member
Exclamation Cheapest Torque Converter Replacement

So I had my used 2002 Monte Carlo LS since I got my license two years ago. It currently has a little over 152K miles on it. I was having the RPM's jump up and down rapidly while driving a 35 to 55 MPH and the RPM's are between 1500 and 2500 (Torque App picture in attachments) so I took it to my local mechanic here in southwest Virginia. I was also having the issue of the car starting really rough. They did their diagnostic and determined that it was the torque converter and it was going to cost $1600. I'm currently an unemployed college student and can't afford to pay that much. I don't know if that's a reasonable price for That repair. I know I can get a Torque Converter for around $100-$150 and I understand they have to pay their mechanics but that seems a little high to me. Would anyone who lives in or around the Montgomery County area be able to recommend a Mechanic or Transmission Shop that would cost less or would someone be able to tell me what a reasonable price it to get the torque converter replaced so I can call around and ask

TL;DR According to my local shop my torque converter is bad and its going to cost $1600. I was wondering if that was too much to pay and if anyone living in my area knows a good place to get it repaired.

Sorry for the long post but I'm trying to give as much info as possible if any more info is required just ask, Thanks!

Edit 1: I just got the diagnosis report it say "Parts:152442 torque converter was slipping 1.00" and "The following work was recommended but not performed: TR50 Torque Converter - Replace. Estimate: 1485.57"

Edit 2: I just realized I forgot a very important detail. The new information is highlighted in bold.

Attached Images
File Type: png