Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

See All Those Bits That Push Your Car Up? Yeah, Replace Them.

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 07:37 PM
1 Year Member
Default See All Those Bits That Push Your Car Up? Yeah, Replace Them.

I’m thinking about doing a lot of work replacing suspension components on my 2002 SS. Both passenger side wheels bang around when I hit certain bumps and I can feel my ride getting harsher as the weeks go by. The shocks and struts seemed fine when I gave the corners of the car some good pushes. I jacked the car up and checked out the bushings and lo and behold, they looked pretty beat up, pretty cracked, pretty worn. I’m no mechanic and I barely count as a DIYer (rather I aspire to be a DIYer) but the bushings looked in bad shape. I’m going to ask a neighbor who is a mechanic about the condition of these components but I’ve included some pictures with this post. This neighbor-mechanic is the guy who told me that if I have bushings that are bad it would be easier for me to put new parts with bushings into the car rather than trying to press bushings in or out.

The questions I’m asking are about the condition of bushings shown in the photographs, about the quality of the manufacturer of the parts I’m thinking about replacing, and I’m also asking if while I’m in there should I be replacing anything else? Like when I do the front sway bar should I put in new brackets? If I replace the outer tie rod ends should I also do the inners? Should I absolutely spring for the polyurethane bushings? If you’re thinking “he probably knows enough that I don’t have to remind him to _____,” allow me to inform you that you’re wrong :P Please, inform me as much as you see fit. If anybody has recommendations for sites with the part for cheaper I’d be glad to hear it. I’m pretty sure this car has had minimal work done and she’s just rolling past 130,000 miles. Let’s get to it: