Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > General Monte Carlo Talk
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:40 AM
Cereal_Killer's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 33
Default Gas gauge problem

Like the title states, I think I'm having a problem with my gas gauge. It It will show one reading, and then out of nowhere drop a 1/8th of a tank, stay there for a while, and then go back up to some other reading. I've read around here that the motors on our different gauges can go out, but it still works so it isn't that, is it? Could it possibly just need to be re-calibrated or something? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Sam
__________________
http://i734.photobucket.com/albums/ww349/Cereal_Killer5545/Forum%20Sigs/FinalSig.jpg
2001 Monte Carlo SS w/ CAI, ZZP Downpipe, Kenwood sound system and much more.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2009, 08:08 AM
Space's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Beach`in Florida
Posts: 32,777
Banned from Facebook Banned Empty Space They won't let me play anymore Revoked X-Rated
Default

Quote:
Any input would be greatly appreciated.


Hi `Sam,
Have you had the fuel pump replaced? If you had, or not, you might want to check all your connections to the pump, make sure the positive lead to tank is secure and also you got a good ground on the tank too. Sometimes when a pump is replaced if not installed right the float in the tank won't work right or is hung up, and thats why it won't register right amount of gas on the gage.

Sometimes it's just a bad fuel tank sending unit in your tank.
How many miles are on your Monte ?
Good Luck `Sam

Member's, your turn 2 help `Sam
on his prob...post it `ok
__________________
- Peace -
`Space
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2009, 08:46 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 22,996
mikerogers.design ChibiBlackSheep mikerogersdesigns ChibiBlackSheep ChibiBlackSheep thismikerogers
Send a message via AIM to ChibiBlackSheep
Default

our fuel tanks are known for their bad sensors. BowtieTech has a very nice write-up in another thread on how to replace the sensor through the trunk, instead of having to rip the whole tank out. Hopefully you can find that thread.

Also, a thing to note is never to fill your gas tank past it's point of being full. I know some people will pay for gas, and when it stops at say... $14.23 they will go all the way to $15.00 to "even it out"

That's bad for the fuel filter and other various parts. The car says enough for a reason haha
__________________

Daily Driver - 2013 IOM Camaro 1LS | LFX and M6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2009, 09:00 AM
Space's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Beach`in Florida
Posts: 32,777
Banned from Facebook Banned Empty Space They won't let me play anymore Revoked X-Rated
Arrow Write up Thread link : )


Mike, Great post information, and good memory about
prior post of Super Member: BowTieTech (Steve Brown)

The Member's appreciate your's, & Steve's super
contributions to our Monte Carlo Family Forum
4-Sure.

`Sam, below is the super write `up Thread by BowTieTech
Steve Brown <~ Thanks `Steve

http://www.montecarloforum.com/forum...ad.php?t=11915

Click on above thread link to view
Great Detailed post
__________________
- Peace -
`Space
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 09:49 AM
Cereal_Killer's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 33
Default

The fuel pump has never been replaced, no.

And I usually don't fill her up past half, and when I do fill her up don't top it off. Buuuuttt..... I bought it used with 68,000 miles on it, and for all I know the previous owner could've.

It now has about 78,000 miles on it.

Anywho, I'll check out the sensor in the next few days, as well as the connections to the fuel pump.

Thanks guys!
__________________
http://i734.photobucket.com/albums/ww349/Cereal_Killer5545/Forum%20Sigs/FinalSig.jpg
2001 Monte Carlo SS w/ CAI, ZZP Downpipe, Kenwood sound system and much more.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 09:49 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2000, 2001, carlo, floater, fuel, full, gage, gas, gauge, guage, monte, sensor, ss, staying, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.