General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Bought a used vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2008, 01:15 AM
Default Bought a used vehicle

Yup, I bought a used vehicle. A 2003 Monte Carlo SS.
Man, I love this CAR. I researched reliability, asked people about their Montes, researched more about the 3800 L36 and drove a few competitors, drove a used SS and bought it.
The problem is, after 7 months I've only driven my Monte 3,000 miles. I should have bought a truck.
I dont know exactly what I expect from posting this, but I have to rant somewhere......
When I bought the car I purchased a $2,000 service contract, I'm an equipment mechanic and I understand the complexity of vehicles.
I recently took my Monte in for a tire balance at the dealership where I bought it, when I went to pick it up the service advisor informed me that the "tech" was driving my car trying to get the "low tire pressure" light to turn off. I gave him my pattented dumbass look and told him to simply flash the parking light switch 3 times. (thanks MC forum) After showing the tech how to do it and paying for the balance I noticed a note on the bottom of the invoice stating "intake seeping". I questioned the service advisor about it and he replied "ohh, ummm, it might be a valve cover leaking or something" so once again I pull out the dumbass look and tell him to go ask the tech exactly what he found wrong. The advisor returns to simply tell me that the intake has a leak. Maybe I'm **** about my car, maybe I know more than the average Joe, but the advisor seemed to think that an intake leak was insignificant. I didnt.