General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

1999 Monte Carlo Z34

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2010, 09:38 AM
Default 1999 Monte Carlo Z34

Hi all, new to the forum here... I am currently looking into a car to buy, a 1999 Monte Carlo Z34. Just had a few questions for you experts on here....
To be safetied it will require a new windshield as it currently has large crack, approx how much are new windshields for these cars?
This car has 230,000 km on it, it's overall good condition, buying off someone who needed a truck, body is good, no rust, only few bubble spots by the rear tires.... he is asking $1200 for it, just wondering how much life is left in a Monte Carlo with 230,000 km on it? If I get two years outta this then great, basically just a car for myself to and from work, but i'm not experienced with these models and not sure about cost of parts if needed etc..... if something needs a fix, brake etc, will this cost me a fortune or hard to fine because it's a 99 car?

I think $1200 is a decent price for this vehicle, but concerned about cost of windshield and if alot to safety/certified...

Thanks in advance

Old 06-20-2010, 10:53 AM

Monte Of The Month -- January 2011
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

238K kilometers = 138K Miles which isn't to bad considering the year, the car looks to be taken care of, I have seen a number of 3800 engines with that many miles on them and more so it looks to be a decent DD...One of the biggest concerns would be the transmission, and how it shifts and such, I have seen a number of them needing rebuilds with half as many miles...

I'd say best bet is to bring it to a local mechanic to check it out and if he gives it a clean bill of health go for it....

as for the windshield not really sure, best bet is to price it out at various places before hand to get a good idea.

Best of luck keep us updated!
Joe

Old 06-20-2010, 05:16 PM