Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > Your Ride > Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:14 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

I HAVE A 2000 SS MONTE CARLO PACE CAR AND IM WONDERING WHERE MY THERMOSTAT WOULD BE ON MY ENGINE? BECAUSE I WANT TO CHANGE IT TO AN 180 DEGREE THERMOSTAT. AND IF ITS HARD TO CHANGE? Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
http://a934.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/40/l_5d1fc7e49d11b186491140ee1e4647d5.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2007, 01:33 PM
z34phoenix's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Fl
Posts: 1,096
z34phoenix
Send a message via AIM to z34phoenix
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

just follow your upper radiator hose to the motor. unbolt the metal housing the rubber pipe is connected too and you will find the Tstat. make sure to bleed the air out of the coolent system when your done.
__________________

96 MC Z34 (RIP LQ1 14.81@92.3) L36 14.9@91.5 www.cardomain.com/id/z34phoenix
Top Swap: Ported(Heads,LIM,SC,TB,)Si Valves,L76 Springs,LW Pushrods,3.29's,SD's,DHP PT PB 13.91@99.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:05 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

how do u bleed the air out the coolant system
__________________
http://a934.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/40/l_5d1fc7e49d11b186491140ee1e4647d5.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:30 PM
GrandPaDave's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- February 2008

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Born in East LA
Posts: 4,286
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: motivation2k3

how do u bleed the air out the coolant system
Yeah, great question. Have been changing my coolants for 30+ years and have never heard of that one.
__________________
<a href=http://www.geocities.com/lakersfool/cutawayfinished.jpg target=_blank>http://www.geocities.com/lakersfool/cutawayfinished.jpg</a>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2007, 07:40 PM
odessadude's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

I always fill the radiator back up and run the car until you see the circulation. This will indicate the T-Stat has opened and then just top it off. I'm a generator tech by trade and work on the large diesels. We have to do this on all of the Cats, Cummins, Detroits etc to get the level above the low coolant switch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2007, 04:17 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 35
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

The 3400 and 3800 motors have bleed valves for bleeding the coolant system. All you have to do is locate them, unscrew them a little bit and then tighten them back. The owner's manual gives a pretty good explanation of this process just look for coolant in the index and its right there.
__________________
There is Only One
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2007, 05:10 PM
04 Intimidator's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 3,987
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

Make sure your over flow tank has some fluid, take off the radiator cap and lift the tank. Some will run into the radiator and make sure you don't spill. Then turn the little brass bolt on the top of the thermostat housing. Squeeze the hose a few times and repeat the tank lift process. That will get you started so you don't get more air in the system than necessary.

Put the radiator cap back on and run the car for a bit. When fluid starts coming out the system is bled.
__________________


HAI - GenV swap - N* - 180* - AL 104's - SLP 1.8 Rockers - Ported and Polished SLP Headers - Dynomax Exhaust - MSP Polyurethane Mounts - Custom HP Tune - PowerSlot Rotors - Hawk Pads - Fuzzy Dice Mod.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2007, 05:10 PM
04 Intimidator's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 3,987
Default RE: WHERE IS MY THERMOSTAT LOCATED ON MY ENGINE?

Oh and make sure you DON'T torque the **** out of the brass bolt. It is designed to strip and only needs to be snug.
__________________


HAI - GenV swap - N* - 180* - AL 104's - SLP 1.8 Rockers - Ported and Polished SLP Headers - Dynomax Exhaust - MSP Polyurethane Mounts - Custom HP Tune - PowerSlot Rotors - Hawk Pads - Fuzzy Dice Mod.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:10 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2000, 2005, 96, a2000, car, carlo, located, location, monta, monte, parts, radiator, thermastat, thermostat, therstat, wheres


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.