Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

engine ticking/knocking... please help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 11:42 PM
Default engine ticking/knocking... please help!

i'm new to this so please bare with me. I need some advice. I have an 04 intimidator ss. about a month ago I went to pass someone and it fell on its face but pulled back out of it and ran fine until I was almost home and it started running really crappy. had the icm tested and it was fine as were the msd coils. decided to change the plugs and cylinder 5,4,6 plugs didn't have any gap(as if they were hit by the pistons) there was no evidence of being hit by anything except on cylinder 6 which had scuff marks.changed the plugs and it runs good now but has a ticking sound. changed the lifters...still ticking. the next day I swapped fuel injectors....still ticking.also replaced supercharger coupling and oil (nothing to do with the issue, just wanted to do it) monte has 84000 miles with a few mods including, msd coils, wires, autolite 104 plugs. cold air kit, reprogrammed pcm, 180 thermostat. magnaflow cat and dynomax cat back system.oil has always been changed between 2500-3000 miles with mobile 1 synthetic 10w30 and fram extra guard filter. any advice would be greatly appreciated

Old 07-02-2013, 08:27 AM
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member