2006 Monte Carlo LT 3.5L oil pressure sending unit location? Oil Pressure light on??? - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums
Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > Your Ride > Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders
Search



Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-11-2012, 02:38 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default 2006 Monte Carlo LT 3.5L oil pressure sending unit location? Oil Pressure light on???

I have searched for this and haven't found anything. I just bought this 2006 Monte Carlo LT(3.5L) and a few days later the oil light and "Low oil pressure...turn engine off" displayed in dash. I changed the oil and the old oil wasn't bad at all. It looks like it had been changed regularly. No crud or buildup came out when I drained it. The same lights came on in dash so I am thinking it is the oil pressure sending unit going bad? Is this common for these engines? Also, where is the sending unit located? Only thing I can find online is the location for the 5.3L V8...nothing on the 3.5L V6. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2013, 07:31 AM
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Default 2006 Monte Oil pressure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe111599 View Post
I have searched for this and haven't found anything. I just bought this 2006 Monte Carlo LT(3.5L) and a few days later the oil light and "Low oil pressure...turn engine off" displayed in dash. I changed the oil and the old oil wasn't bad at all. It looks like it had been changed regularly. No crud or buildup came out when I drained it. The same lights came on in dash so I am thinking it is the oil pressure sending unit going bad? Is this common for these engines? Also, where is the sending unit located? Only thing I can find online is the location for the 5.3L V8...nothing on the 3.5L V6. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
I am having the same issue. I will post another reply once I finish locating the oil pressure sending unit on mine. I have a 3.5 V6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2013, 11:54 AM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 9,138
Default

@aspringthomas - joe111599 has not posted anything since november of 2012, I'm betting he found an answer to his issue and did not write back.

But to be of help, I believe the 3.5 is based off the block used in the 3.4. If that holds true, on the 3.4 the oil pressure sensor is in the front of the engine, just off center (towards the driver side of the car) and under the exhaust manifold. I've changed it on a few 3.1 and 3.4 engines. Easy to get to, but you don't have great visibility of it unless you are under the car. It will also require a special socket made specifically for the oil pressure sensor. I hope this helps you out.
__________________
-Jason
Check out my websites below:
- 1984 Camaro Z28 5.0 Liter HO Restore Project/Big Toy
- 2004 Monte Carlo SS 3800 N/A See website for MOD List
- 2004 Grand Am GT SC/T - Current daily driver
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2013, 06:20 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Default 2006 Monte Carlo 3.5 liter Oil Sending Unit Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe111599 View Post
I have searched for this and haven't found anything. I just bought this 2006 Monte Carlo LT(3.5L) and a few days later the oil light and "Low oil pressure...turn engine off" displayed in dash. I changed the oil and the old oil wasn't bad at all. It looks like it had been changed regularly. No crud or buildup came out when I drained it. The same lights came on in dash so I am thinking it is the oil pressure sending unit going bad? Is this common for these engines? Also, where is the sending unit located? Only thing I can find online is the location for the 5.3L V8...nothing on the 3.5L V6. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
I have a 2006 Monte Carlo LT with the 3.5 V6 and the oil light started coming on randomly. Also the Low oil pressure shut off engine came up on the dash. I replaced the oil pressure sending unit and has corrected the problem. The sending unit threads into the oil filter section. Its on the front towards the passenger side of the car below the exhaust. You can unplug it from the buttom right next to the oil filter. I ran a deep socket under the starter area with a extension to reach it. Wasn't extremely difficult once I located it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:40 AM
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Default Video

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspiringthomas View Post
I am having the same issue. I will post another reply once I finish locating the oil pressure sending unit on mine. I have a 3.5 V6.
I created a video which is not the best but maybe it will be some help.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:42 AM
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Default Sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Maniac View Post
@aspringthomas - joe111599 has not posted anything since november of 2012, I'm betting he found an answer to his issue and did not write back.

But to be of help, I believe the 3.5 is based off the block used in the 3.4. If that holds true, on the 3.4 the oil pressure sensor is in the front of the engine, just off center (towards the driver side of the car) and under the exhaust manifold. I've changed it on a few 3.1 and 3.4 engines. Easy to get to, but you don't have great visibility of it unless you are under the car. It will also require a special socket made specifically for the oil pressure sensor. I hope this helps you out.
I found it threaded into the oil filter section.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2015, 03:45 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Hey guys. Sorry to respond to such an old thread, but I'm having the exact same error with my 2006 Monte Carlo LT (3.5L). It only happens after I've been driving on highway. It doesn't stay on, just goes off and on randomly.

I'm ready to try swapping out this part, but I'm not finding anything called a "oil pressure sending unit" or "oil pressure sensor" on Autozone's website. Could you guys give me the part number or a link to the actual part? Thanks!

EDIT: Pretty sure I found it here:
Amazon.com: Standard Motor Products PS-425 Oil Pressure Gauge Sending Unit: Automotive Amazon.com: Standard Motor Products PS-425 Oil Pressure Gauge Sending Unit: Automotive

Last edited by silkwormxl; 06-08-2015 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2015, 11:41 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Monte enthusiasts. My 2006 just developed the same warnings on the dash. Thanks for sharing. It made my troubleshooting very simple.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2006, 35, 35l, 53, carlo, chevy, located, monte, monty, oil, pressure, sending, switch, unit, v6


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil sending unit? 04 SS/SC Monte Carlo Repair Help 4 01-31-2014 10:10 AM
Oil pressure sending unit tiguagm Monte Carlo Repair Help 3 01-19-2014 07:09 PM
97 monte 3.4 fuel sending unit tshorty454 Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 0 05-16-2012 12:16 AM
'92-ish corsica fuel pume & sending unit- same as 5th gen monte? skylark65 Monte Carlo Repair Help 0 05-15-2009 09:24 PM
How to fuel gauge sending unit? PCWeber General Monte Carlo Talk 1 12-02-2007 01:22 PM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.