Detailing Discuss detailing your Monte Carlo inside and out here.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Detailing the monte

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2016, 08:13 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Detailing the monte

ok so i plan on washing and claybaring Jack on thursday. my first question is :is there any retailers that simply sell the clay? i dont feel like buying a whole kit, my second thing is i want to compound,polish and wax but i was gonna use this

Meguiar's DA Power System Tool + Optional PowerPak Special Offer - Walmart.com

seeing as though i dont have alot of detail with a buffer i thought this will be a good idea, been seeing alot of good videos online with this

any thoughts or opinions?

Old 06-14-2016, 07:27 AM
Monte Of The Month -- June 2016
10 Year Member

I'd be interested to see how that thing works, too. I have no experience with machine polishing, but I've been thinking of buying a Meguiar's G110v2 to try it out. It seems like a good machine to start with...

I'm paying $400 for a paint correction on my Trailblazer, so I thought I might try to learn how to do this stuff....

Old 06-14-2016, 09:11 AM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

What kind of drill do you plan on using with that? Because if you look at the specs of that DA, it requires a powerful drill, and most people don't have one strong enough.

If you wanted a cheap DA, go to Harbor Freight and pick up one of theirs. They are constantly ranked as a good quality DA for cheap, and we don't live far from a couple.

I went and picked up a proper DA this past year. Definitely worth the investment.

Most places I know don't sell just the kit in a store, you'd have to look online for just the clay, but usually the "kit" is the clay and a bottle of quick detailer, and it never hurts to have extra detail spray.

Old 06-14-2016, 11:17 AM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016